Court Room Setting

Sharon Prost
Chief Judge

Daniel E. O’Toole
Circuit Executive
& Clerk of Court


The Honorable Richard G. Taranto became the newest member of the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit on Friday afternoon, March 15, 2013 at a swearing-in ceremony in the chambers of Chief Judge Randall Rader. The Chief Judge administered the oath of office at approximately 2:00pm while Judge Taranto placed his hand on the historic Lincoln Bible, which was held by his wife Vicki Plaut. Judge Taranto was accompanied by Nora Taranto (daughter), Ella Taranto (daughter), Julius Taranto (son), Judge Arthur Gajarsa, Bartow Farr, David Reiser, John Thorne, Michael Kellogg, Aaron Panner, Sara Thorne and George Pappas.


Taranto swearing in

Chief Judge Randall R. Rader swears in Circuit Judge Richard G. Taranto. Vicki Plaut, Judge Taranto's wife, holds the Lincoln Bible.

Members of the court who witnessed the ceremony included: Judge Pauline Newman, Judge Jay Plager, Judge Alan Lourie, Judge Raymond Clevenger, Judge William Bryson, Judge Timothy Dyk, Judge Sharon Prost, Judge Kimberly Moore, and Judge Kathleen O'Malley.

BW judges pic

From left: Chief Judge Rader, Judge Bryson, Judge Gajarsa, Judge Clevenger, Judge Lourie, Judge Taranto, Judge Newman, Judge Dyk, Judge Prost, Judge Moore, Judge O’Malley, Judge Plager 

The Senior Staff of the court were represented by Circuit Executive Jan Horbaly. James Benjamin of the Clerk's Office served as Notary Public, Shannon Savage, also of the Clerk's Office, took photographs. Members of Chief Judge Rader's staff who attended included: Kate Toth, Jinrong Li, Patricia Grob, James Hughes, David Hrick and Philip Sheng.

Judge Taranto was nominated by President Obama on November 10, 2011, re-nominated on January 3, 2013, and unanimously confirmed by the Senate on March 11, 2013. 

To view our past announcments, please visit the archives